Up

 

                       

 

The Original Traditional L-250'S

 

T1+T2 Black label's are the original Roy Buchanan pickups, we made for his guitar.  

***************************************************************************

   

 

 

 

 

         Bill Lawrence L-500XL

                               Made in California USA  

                               Guitarpickups@Billlawrencepickups.com

 

 

Submitted at: 13:12, 11/5/2002

Product Info

Pickup features: Humbucker, passive
Impedence or other specs: 11.2k
Price Paid: US $$49.85
Purchased from: Stewart-MacDonald

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass:
Position: neck
Pickup being replaced:
Other pickups on guitar:
Artists using this pickup:
You musical style(s):
Reason for pickup change:

 

name          :  Scott Andrews
e-mail        :  sha3u@virginia.edu
date          :  4/25/94
musical style :  metal, hard rock, bluesy rock
guitar        :  Charvel Model 3 [2 Charvel 3s & a Fender Heartfield]
features      :  4 conductor cable; includes mounting ring & screws
cost          :  $42 + shipping
purchased from:  Stewart MacDonald Guitar Shop Supply; Ohio
replaced      :  stock Jackson humbucker
position      :  bridge
other pickups :  neck and mid are stock Jackson single coils
artists using :  Dimebag Darrell of Pantera; Nuno Bettencourt of Extreme

reason for pickup change:  stock Jackson humbucker was fine, but it didn't 
     have the extra edge or drive necessary for metal.

perceived output level:  pretty loud; more than most average humbuckers.  
     the pickup is quieter than most, also.

tone:  plenty of treble and bass; gives that sucked out mid metal tone 
     without being harsh in the high end; without that whiny chainsaw 
     sound in the high end.

candid evaluation:  i play mostly metal through a tube preamp and a 
     Mosvalve power amp.  i like the pickup because it gives clear highs, 
     solid bass crunch, and lots of output.  

it also gives a nice bluesy half distorted sound when i turn the guitar 
     volume control down.  most high output pickups that i have heard 
     sound way too treble-y when you turn the guitar volume down.  that's 
     fine if you never do that, but i like a mellower sound every once in
     a while.

i liked the XL500 so much that i installed it in my second Charvel Model 3.  
     it sounds better in one of them than it does in the other - could be 
     wood quality differences, or pickup quality differences - it sounds 
     darker in the second guitar.  i also tried it in a Fender Heartfield 
     [Ibanez copy] and it sounded quite good.  all three of these guitars
     are made of basswood - i highly recommend the XL500 for any guitar, 
     especially basswood guitars, if you want a metal sound.  Jackson 
     Custom Shop guitars now feature the XL-500 as the standard bridge pickup.

the pickup casing is made of plastic, not metal, so it looks a little "cheap"
     from the outside, but it sounds great.  

suitability:  this pickup is great for metal.  they make a less powerful 
     version, the L500, that might be better for plain hard rock.  you
     can't beat the price, especially with "big" pickup manufacturers
     [Duncan and DiMarzio] charging $20 or more for similar models.

they also make neck models of both the XL500 and L500, apparently with
     less output in this position.  i have no idea how these sound.

on a scale of 1 - 11:  i'd give the XL500 a 10.  this pickup does high 
     gain sounds very well.


Submitted at: 21:01, 3/9/98

Product Info

Pickup features: Pasive Hummbucker
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: US $bout 50
Purchased from:
Music Barn Mayfield Ky ( R U all Still there ? )

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: Peavey Tracer ( Yeah Wow. Impressed huh HeHeHeHe )
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: Stock
Other pickups on guitar: Stock but thinkin about it
Artists using this pickup:
Nuno, Diamond Darrell, I guess other smart folk
You musical style(s): Then...Hard Rock to Metal... Now.. Blues and Classic Rock
Reason for pickup change: Stock was too mild and lacked definition

Sound

Perceived output level: Much greater than stock pickup.but not knocking the paint off the wall.
Tone: Balanced, may be a little sucked out mids??? ( or is it just my ear )
Sonic evaluation: I have used this guitar ( Tracer ) and Crate amps for a while and it more than met me expectations. Clear, clean and LOUD . The tone is rich and chords ring true even with mucho gain and distortion. I have tried this same guitar on other amps with the same pleasing results( and it looks cool too, does that count? ).I Love it I MIGHT try a Rio BBQ In another guitar cuz i love the ones in my strat so much , but thats another story.

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: I think that this pick up would be good for just about any style. I feel its balanced sound would respond well to any players touch, and let their own expression of their emotion come through .

Overall Rating

Comments: I would buy them again and again , but like I said I want to try those BBQ's as my Strat has become new to me and " vintage " at the same time with Rio's tallboys, and I am led to believe all of their PU's are of the same quality. I have been playing for about 9 years and have changed PU's in every guitar I have owned save one I love these humbuckers the best. O Yeah, these things are usually CHEAP too, if you can find them .... FIND SOME !! And if you hate them ... send them too me hehehehehe.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: Dani Cox <danicox@hotmail.com>

 

 

Submitted at: 7:26, 5/7/98

Product Info

Pickup features: Dual Blade Humbucker
Impedence or other specs: ?
Price Paid: US $$50.00
Purchased from:
Steward Macdonald

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: B.C Rich Ironbird
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: Stock
Other pickups on guitar: Stock
Artists using this pickup: Pantera
You musical style(s): Death Metal, Black Metal
Reason for pickup change: Terrible feedback, No balls in the Bass

Sound

Perceived output level: Super hot
Tone: Scooped Mid sound
Sonic evaluation: Crate half stack

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: Any style of Metal

Overall Rating

Comments: This pick-up can do it all. It can give you all the crunch you need and them some. It can give a very clean sound without can you settings on your amp. This is the only pick-up going on all my guitars

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: Rod

Submitted at: 17:37, 7/23/98

Product Info

Pickup features: passive humbucker
Impedence or other specs: ????
Price Paid: u.s. $50
Purchased from:
steward macdonald

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: jackson ps4
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: stock jackson
Other pickups on guitar: stock jackson
Artists using this pickup: dimebag darrel
You musical style(s): metal , hard rock
Reason for pickup change: stock pickup was not loud enough and made too much feed back wanted something with more edge

Sound

Perceived output level: hot but not really loud its a good pickup but i wish it was a little louder I guess im just going deaf or something
Tone: bassy and trebly for a sucked out mid sound a really crunchy pickup good for high gain and volume settings
Sonic evaluation: I have a jackson ps4 with a crate gx 60 combo amp running through a boss phaser,digitech wammy wah,a crybaby wah,and i have a footswitch so i use the amp distortion the pickup is really good because when i play in my band i turn up really loud and it gets almost no feed back

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: i mostly play metal and it suits me fine even though i play metal you could probabally use it for almost any style of music i would really like to hear what it sounds like in the neck position

Overall Rating

Comments: if it wast destroyed i would but it again and if it were stolen i dont know why someone would just take a pickup i would probabally be minus a guitar that would suck ive been playing for 3 years i really didnt compareit with anything i just said to my self dimebag uses it so im getting it this is a good pickup especially if you play metal i just wish it was a little louder but for $50 i cant complain this pickup gives me a great sound especially when its cranked im very satisfied with this pickup but i dont think ill really get the sound i want untill i buy a stack or atleast a cab

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 9

Submitted by: i dont give out my name but if you have questions e-mail me <metal00man@aol.com>

Submitted at: 8:53, 9/23/98

Product Info

Pickup features: humbucker
Impedence or other specs: whatever????
Price Paid: N/A used
Purchased from:

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: 1994 Jackson RR1
Position: all positions
Pickup being replaced: ?????Came with the Jackson
Other pickups on guitar: This is All I need
Artists using this pickup:
Me.....And The dude from Pantera
You musical style(s): Metal, percussive, palm muting death
Reason for pickup change: Just got lucky I guess

Sound

Perceived output level: Hell of a metal tone from this.Its very hot and very responsive,...umm loud too!..
Tone: Bass tone with a great deal of crisp treble....very good for what I play
Sonic evaluation: I use the jackson with a JCM900 4100 100 watt head with the strait 1960 cab,...it thumps man...

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: It sounds killer for metal, great for soloing, clean its ok (not as good as a Gibson 496R)

Overall Rating

Comments: If it were stolen(sorry wont happen)...I am going to replace my treble pickups in my jacksons to this type,...I have all different types of pickups(gibson,dimarzio,jackson,)but this suits what I play much better......

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: SNDGRDN <sndgrdn22@hotmail.com>

Submitted at: 23:48, 12/9/98

Product Info

Pickup features: Passive Humbucker
Impedence or other specs: 11 ohms or something
Price Paid: US $54.00
Purchased from:
Stewart Macdonald...Not Steward

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: Washburn Dime 333
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: Washburn Eliminator (Which another name for the 600 series)
Other pickups on guitar: An Eliminator (Soon to be something else)
Artists using this pickup: DIMEBAG DARRELL!!!!!!!!!!!! Nuno and all of these other smart chaps.
You musical style(s): Shred,metal,rock,Skynard,Wes Montgomery? D I M E B A G !!!
Reason for pickup change: The eliminators get all muddy when you turn you amp up half way loud.That kinda sucks. D A R R E L L!!!

Sound

Perceived output level: Hot enough to make your chest cave into your scrotum...But its mature.
Tone: Just like Dime says it is.Heavy on the bottom and wah-ish on the treble strings.Yes wah-ish...but much more subtle,not gross or anything.
Sonic evaluation: Peavey Bandit 112 with an extension cab loaded with another Sheffield.

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: I wouldn't know about how it sounds in the neck. Probably rude though.

Overall Rating

Comments: Yeah,I would buy it again,one that sucks is that the Eliminators were a touch louder than the Lawrence.Been 3-4 years playing.If you put it in a Dimer your gonna have to do some work on it.After you get it in. You will notice the pickup ring the Macdonald sends you is very tall in comparison to the old ring.And the Lawrence is very tall compared to the eliminator.Dont try to use the old ring,use the new one.Its way too tall and it hits the strings.Take some fine sandpaper and sand down the bottom of the ring lower till it reasonable.Then mount it and have a blast.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 9

Submitted by: Wes <hauch@sierratel.com>

 

u

Submitted at: 0:56, 3/13/99

Product Info

Pickup features: passive humbucker, blade style pole pieces
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: US $<$50
Purchased from:
Stewart McDonald

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: Fender Strat Plus
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: Gold Lace Sensor
Other pickups on guitar: Gold Lace Sensors
Artists using this pickup: Nuno Bettencourt
You musical style(s): thrash
Reason for pickup change: Needed a humbucker instead of a single coil.

Sound

Perceived output level: Hotter than a regular PAF style, but not to the level of XL500 or Dimarzio X2N.
Tone: Good highs, good lows, scooped mids.
Sonic evaluation: I've been using this pickup for years with a variety of amps: GT Trio + MB 20/20; Peavey 5150; Peavey Classic 30. Doesn't accentuate mids, awesome bass response and clean treble. Strong output, enough to overdrive amps reasonably well.

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: This is a great all around pickup, particularly well suited to rock

Overall Rating

Comments: I used to think that the best pickups had to come from the big names, but I experimented with this one because Stew-Mac had a great price on it and I read that Nuno Bettencourt and Dimebag Darrell both use Lawrence pickups. So figured, what the hell, I'll give it a shot. very accentuated mid range that sucks for thrash type music. I've used other pickups: Seymour Duncans came with my ESP, and I've had a DiMarzio MegaDrive and tried many other DiMarzios in stores, and they always have too much mid range that can't really be compensated for with EQ. This pickup has strong string-string balance, the blade pole pieces make bending sound very smooth, and overall the tone just can't be beat -- especially when you factor in price.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 9

Submitted by: brian hook <bwh@wksoftware.com>

 

 

Submitted at: 10:23, 4/16/99

Product Info

Pickup features: Humbucking...passive
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: US $$45.85
Purchased from:
Stewart Macdonald 1-800-848-2273 http://www.stewmac.com

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: Jackson RR1
Position: all positions
Pickup being replaced: n/a
Other pickups on guitar:
Artists using this pickup:
Dimebag Darryl...Nuno Bettencourt...and ME!!!
You musical style(s): Metal, blues, Classic hard rock/metal.
Reason for pickup change: n/a

Sound

Perceived output level: Hot, but not too hot. I've got a Duncan Invader that's so hot it's not even usable. Anyone wanna' buy it? Please?
Tone: Very balanced. Good crisp highs but not harsh. Good "scooped" mids. Very solid bass response.
Sonic evaluation: Jackson RR1, Laney AOR Pro Tube Lead 50 watt head. Carvin 4X12 Cab.

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: This pickup Sounds great with high gain, and Clean jazzy type runs.

Overall Rating

Comments: If it were stolen, I'd find the asshole that did it and kill his family! Then I'd order another pickup. I made a bad reveiw of this pickup before. It was a mistake. I'm sorry. This is a great pickup. When I got the guitar, it had been wired with 250k ohm pots and sounded really muddy. I assumed it was the pickup, but I was wrong. Once I changed the pots over to 500k, I saw how great this pickup really sounded. It has plenty of sustain, and a great bass crunch to it with chopped mids and nice crisp high end. This pickup is VREY sensitive to pick attack. Unlike a distortion type pickup, you can change your pick attack for a more subtle or agressive sound and feel. The price is great too. There are few other pickups I would compare to this one. Once again, sorry for the previous reveiw of this pickup. I LOVE IT!!!

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: Anthony <MrSuperHate@webtv.net>

 

 

Submitted at: 14:38, 7/8/99

Product Info

Pickup features: Passive Humbucking
Impedence or other specs: about 11.2K ohms, dual "blade" polepieces, high-output.
Price Paid: US $45.00
Purchased from:
Stewart MacDonalds

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: Jackson Dinky Reverse
Position: all positions
Pickup being replaced: Neck and Bridge
Other pickups on guitar: Stock Jackson Duncan Designed
Artists using this pickup:
Dimebag Darrell, and that guy Nuno.
You musical style(s): DeathMetal, Hardcore, and some punk.
Reason for pickup change: Stock pickups didn't have that great a sound or output level. I was looking for something with less mids and more highs and lows and lots of harmonics.

Sound

Perceived output level: This pickup is perceived to be real loud, hotter than the L-500 version.
Tone: The bridge position model has the perfect low end, powerful and defined. The low end on the neck position is a bit muddy, but it's not used for lows anyway. They both have a sucked out mid sound, and the high on the brdige is a little harsh while the high on the neck is smooth and colorful keeping in mind that the overall sound on both is loud and pronounced.
Sonic evaluation: I'm using a Jackson Dinky Reverse through a Crybabay Wah and a DOD DeathMetal pedal. The amp is a little Crate 15watt practice amp, but sometimes I use a Peavey Stage something, I don't know it's my friends and it's big. On the practice amp it sounds nuts, it actually makes the speaker distort and I can hear the speaker moving out of the basket!! On the Peavey its sounds excellent, there are tons of harmonics and it is loud!!! These pickups are definetly hot...

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: I play lots of metal and hardcore and some punk as stated above. I think this pickup is more suitable in the bridge position, but it sounds decent in the neck also. You can definetly tell the difference in sound between the two versions.

Overall Rating

Comments: I would definetly buy it again if it were de-soldered and unscrewed from my guitar, I've been playing for 3 years and I own a host of other little pedals. I like how hot the sound is, I wish I had a chance to try out some active pickups like the EMG-81's. I am definetly satisfied with the pickups, and if you are looking for a high-output passive for metal and other such heavy styles of music, this could be a good choice for you!!

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted at: 13:23, 3/9/2000

Product Info

Pickup features: passive - Double Edge humbucker
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: US $45
Purchased from:
Stew Mac's

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: 87' Charvel Soloist
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: Duncan custom custom
Other pickups on guitar: jackson singles
Artists using this pickup: I don't really care about them -- only me!!!!
You musical style(s): Metal
Reason for pickup change: Not enough out put from the duncan; also made distortions too fat sounding with its heavy mids

Sound

Perceived output level: So hot you don't need a 100w
Tone: lots of treble, average bass, little mids
Sonic evaluation: I'm using a Mesa Dual Rectifier 100w and a Marshall JCM 2000 100w. he pickup sounds amazing in both- but the Mesa complements the sound much better--gives the massive distortion a "powdery" fuzz sound. The clean of the pickup surprised the hell out of me. This is the only pickup on the planet which interacts well with the amount of gain dialed in. In clean: it sounds loud and clean--no distortion at all. This pickup is perfect for anyone who want a powerful signal but wants professional sound as well. It does everything a EMG81 can and more (clean).

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: The most underrated pickup of all time.

Overall Rating

Comments: Playing 5 years and enjoying the passive sounds of this beast. It's also the quietest high gain pickup for passive wiring. It feels "alive" in your hands, whearas, the EMG 81 feels the same no matter what guitar it's in.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: Whoa! <Whoa!>

Submitted at: 10:44, 3/10/2000

Product Info

Pickup features: HUMBUCKER
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: US $45
Purchased from:
STEWART MCDONALD

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: 3 JACKSON USA's AND A CHARVEL
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: 3 JACKSON STOCK AND SEYMOUR DUNCAN SCREAMIN DEMON
Other pickups on guitar:
Artists using this pickup: I DON'T KNOW
You musical style(s): ROCK AND METAL
Reason for pickup change: TO GET THE ULTIMATE TONE POSSIBLE

Sound

Perceived output level: THE PERFECT METAL OR ROCK PICKUP, CLARITY WITH A GROWL
Tone: CLARITY AND EDGE WITH A RUMBLE WHEN YOU WANT IT
Sonic evaluation: JACKSON USA AND CHARVEL, DIGITECH 2112 PREAMP/PROCESSOR WITH A MARSHALL EL34 50/50 TUBE POWER AMP, MARSHALL 4X12 AND A LANEY 4X12

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: AWESOME METAL PICKUP

Overall Rating

Comments: I HAVE TRIED THEM ALL. DIMARZIO, DUNCAN, EMG, VARIOUS STOCK PICKUPS. THIS PICKUP IS THE SHIT!!!! THERE IS NO EQUAL!! IT HAS EVERYTHING. IT IS SO GOOD FOR ROCK AND METAL. IT HAS A SINGING CLARITY THAT ISNT NOISY. BUT IT HAS BOTTOM END GROWL THAT US METAL HEADS NEED. GREAT FOR PICK HARMONICS. ASLO!!! IF ANYONE CARES, I WROTE STEWART MCDONALD AND ASKED THEM ABOUT THE "IMPOSTER" FAKE *Bill Lawrence PICKUPS THEORY. THEY TOLD ME THAT THESE PICKUPS THEY SELL ARE FROM LAWRENCE SOUND RESEARCH, WHICH IS THE COMPANY THAT BILL STARTED BACK IN THE 70'S. THIS IS THE SAME COMPANY BUILDING THEM TODAY, SAME DESIGN, EVERYTHING THE SAME. BUT BILL LAWRENCE RETURNED TO THE BUSINESS MAKING HIS OWN PICKUPS USING HIS NAME. SO ACCORDING TO THEM THESE ARE THE ORIGINAL LAWRENCE PICKUPS BY LAWRENCE SOUND RESEARCH DESIGNED BY BILL. NOT THE "*Bill Lawrence" PICKUPS BUILT BY BILL HIMSELF TODAY. HOPEFULLY THIS WILL HELP THOSE PEOPLE WHO CARE ABOUT IT.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

 

Submitted at: 9:06, 4/3/2002

Product Info

Pickup features: Dual Rail Humbucker
Impedence or other specs: 11.5-11.6k ohms
Price Paid: US $
Purchased from:
Stewart McDonald

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: ESP MH300
Position: all positions
Pickup being replaced: EMG HZ
Other pickups on guitar:
Artists using this pickup:
You musical style(s): 80's shred-Neo Classical, Blues, Metal
Reason for pickup change: Stock HZ's are quite good pu's, quiet and fat, not super high output, a little too much mids for an all mahogany neck-thru. They lack a certain overt personality and harmonic content.

Sound

Perceived output level: High output, I use the volume to control drive characteristics and overall sound, powerful treble, reduced mids
Tone: Crisp, defined and focused due to the thin blade pole pieces.
Sonic evaluation: The ESP MH300 is an all mahogahony neck thru that was overly dark with the stock pu's but comes alive with these. Tried many other pu's, many Dimarzio's, Armstrong, Schaller, QRails, with varied results but kept coming back to these. Use with a Mesa Boogie DC5 combo and a Crate VC120 head, (Excellent old Marshall knockoff) to an 80's 4x12 Celestion cab.

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: Use a 1meg pot rolled to around half, sometimes more or less, and no tone control. Sounds clear and alive clean and distorted

Overall Rating

Comments: I'll be the first to admit the constuction quality of these is less than that of those now offered by BL the originator but that they both differ enough to be given consideration on different merits. These have a much narrower blade pole piece and yield a very focused harmonically active output without overbaearing mids.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: JK <jvkrash@snet.net>

 

 

Submitted at: 1:18, 7/6/2000

Product Info

Pickup features: blade humbucker
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: US $45
Purchased from:
stewart mcdonald

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: n/a
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced:
Other pickups on guitar:
Artists using this pickup:
You musical style(s):
Reason for pickup change: responding to the "lawrence" Imposter theory. I dont care what *Bill Lawrence says about these pickups that Stew mac sells. I dont care if mickey mouse builds them, they are the most awesome sounding guitar pickup I have ever heard. So get off it and buy one. Who ever designs and builds them is a genius. You gotta get one. I think bill is tryuing to sell a new pickup under his old name and compete. Whatever!!!! These stew mac "imposters" rock!!!!! I dont believe that imposter shit. I believe the Stew mac story. enough talking , just buy one.

Sound

Perceived output level:
Tone:
Sonic evaluation: For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable:

Overall Rating

Comments: On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: tonemonster

 

Submitted at: 17:32, 8/4/2000

Product Info

Pickup features: Humbucking, 4 wire, passive
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: US $48,00
Purchased from:
Stew MacDonald

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: Epiphone L450 Maple body, Rosewood fingerboard
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: Original Epi PAF
Other pickups on guitar: Schaller Golden 50, neck
Artists using this pickup: Unknown
You musical style(s): All styles of rock, contemporary Christian, Jazz
Reason for pickup change: I was looking for that sparkling, mid-50's jangle combined with enough output for modern, high gain tones. I wired it originally for SERIES/PARALLEL but later reverted to SERIES only as the tones I wanted did not live in the PARALLEL mode at all. I've played all kinds of humbuckers over the years and this is the one and only for me. It's simply the best sounding "all around" pickup for the bridge position that money can buy. GO GET ONE!!!!

Sound

Perceived output level: This is a fairly hot pickup. It actually overdrives my guitar's electronics!
Tone: The ultimate in balanced tone. None better. Clean or distorted, it kills!
Sonic evaluation: I play a solid Maple Epiphone L450. It is a bright sounding guitar. The XL500 really sounds thick and harmonically alive through my Fender Princeton Reverb (tube amp.) I have played it through a variety of SS amps too and it just sounds great. When I use a distortion pedal with it (Real tube, TS 9, TS808, Jekyll and Hyde, Route 66) it absolutely sings but remains as clear as a bell. Even in the most outrageous gain situations, the XL500 has never failed to deliver that clear, KILLER rock tone. For me, there IS NO SUBSTITUTE! I roll my volume and tone up/down...no matter where I take this pickup it performs FLAWLESSLY every time.

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: I play clean, sparkling jangle to metal. This pickup does every style perfectly.

Overall Rating

Comments: All other pickups pale in comparison. I'm just coming to my 50th birthday. I've played professionally for years and years. I've heard every pickup made-played most of them personally. BUY THIS ONE!!! As far as I'm concerned, there is no other pickup that does the bridge position like the trusty XL. It kills. It has THE TONE everybody wants, only BETTER! GO GET ONE! Don't waste your money on anything else. IT IS PERFECT!

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

 

 

Submitted at: 13:45, 9/26/2000

Product Info

Pickup features:
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: N/A
Purchased from:

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: washburn nuno bettencourt N4E
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced:
Other pickups on guitar:
Artists using this pickup:
nuno bettencourt
You musical style(s): punk
Reason for pickup change: this is my stock pick-uo

Sound

Perceived output level: very loud and super clear
Tone: amazing, bassy with just the right treble
Sonic evaluation: washburn nunobettencourt N4E and a crate GFX-212 right now...getting a new amp soon

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: punk and this pick-up is great. i believe it is simular to the same one billie joe (greenday) installed on blue his guitar

Overall Rating

Comments: if anything ever happened to this pick-up i would rush to the store and buy another one

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: zac <monster_in_your_closet@hotmail.com>

Submitted at: 22:20, 10/1/2001

Product Info

Pickup features: passive humbucker
Impedence or other specs:
Price Paid: its a stock pickup
Purchased from: Mark Flores (the WPG guitarer)

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: Washburn N2 which is a kick ass guitar
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced:
Other pickups on guitar:
Artists using this pickup:
Nuno, Dimebag
You musical style(s): Extreme, Dream theater, Hendrix, Van Halen
Reason for pickup change:

Sound

Perceived output level: This pickup is hot. Hot enuf for Van HAlen, Metallica, Dream Theater
Tone: MIDDY! and trebly with a tight bass end.( Just listen to Nuno's tone in Pornografitti)
Sonic evaluation: This pickup really matches the Washburn N2. The pickup sounds middy enuf for soloing yet isnt too muddy for Rhythmn palm-muting. It realy sounds like Nuno's tone in 'rest in peace'

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: This pickup is very versatile and sounds decent in clean. I use this pickup for all types of music, rock, metal, jazz...

Overall Rating

Comments: This pickup is very distinct sounding and is appealling to some people. People say it is way to muddy but it just depends on your rig and style. Put it this way, if u like Nuno's tone, then you'll like this pickup. I like Nuno's tone....

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: Marloni Bengsonski <marlon_bengson@hotmail.com>

 

Submitted at: 13:06, 10/8/2000

Product Info

Pickup features: passive twincoil
Impedence or other specs: visit sight
Price Paid: N/A
Purchased from:

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: N-4 washburn sig series
Position: neck
Pickup being replaced:
Other pickups on guitar:
*Bill Lawrence l-500(see my review)
Artists using this pickup: to many to mention
You musical style(s): rock
Reason for pickup change:

Sound

Perceived output level: 1-10 7.5
Tone: perfect bottom end,well balanced mids superb top end,rails give exceptional balance
Sonic evaluation: through my soldano this thing is,quite honestly,one of the best sounding units ever.the alder body of the N-4 is my tone wood of choice.pinch harmonics and others are effortless.and as promised it is transparent letting the natural wood tone shine through.

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: this pick up is perfect for any style of music that requires an overdriven sound from barely breaking up to singing high gain it really is that incredible

Overall Rating

Comments: if stolen i would replace,i've been playing 16 years,several guitars;sg,strat,esp,larrivee,soldano amps,br-8,the tonal balanceis what i love,not that i hate it but smetimes i need to roll back treble on amp(for certain tones),compared to a duncan i'd take a duncan any day(they are what i use most)however don't dismiss this as just another hot pick up it's voice is it's signiture.i will allways be in persuit of the emaculate tone however my current set up allows my hands to do the work,the l-500 is no exception.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 9

Submitted by: craig squires <squires@telusplanet.net>

 

 

Submitted at: 10:09, 1/11/2002

Product Info

Pickup features: Passive Mini-humbucker.
Impedence or other specs: Sorry, I bought it used sans the technical spec sheet, but if I had to guess I would estimate it equal in power to a PAF.
Price Paid: US $$40
Purchased from:
Guitar Oasis Inc.(Great folks!)

Instrument

Model of guitar or bass: 1972 Les Paul Deluxe Goldtop
Position: bridge
Pickup being replaced: Stock mini-humbucker.
Other pickups on guitar: Stock neck position mini-humbucker (will stay).
Artists using this pickup: No idea.
You musical style(s): Classic rock and blues.
Reason for pickup change: The stock bridge pickup sound is really very comparable to a telecaster sound, but humbucking. Too thin for my needs, although very clean with lots of edge. Why not also replace the neck pickup, you may ask? In all my years of playing I have never enjoyed a neck pickup sound more than I have the stock mini-humby in the GT, PERIOD.

Sound

Perceived output level: Just a guess; about 15% more power but still balances perfectly with the stock neck pickup.
Tone: The 550C has less of that "shattering glass" edge that the stock pickup has and is just generall stronger. It leans toward the traditional Les Paul sound.....I said "leans". It still has a slightly more focused sound than a full-sized humby. Sounds fine through the clean channel....doesn't distort on its own.
Sonic evaluation: My amp is a Mesa Boogie Nomad 45 112 combo with a Vintage 30 speaker, and I am absolutely crazy about it. Only owners of this amp will understand these settings; I run the output stage of the amp in the "extreme" mode, channel one in clean mode, channel two somewhat dirty (modern mode), and channel three cranked with gain at about 9 a.m. (vintage). This amp loves my GT and my strat clone both, especially channels one and three. Both guitars get a good "Stevie Ray" sound in channel three. This channel wants to be bright and I set it that way. Amazing but true; the GT stock pickups are brighter sounding than the strat clone. I was very hesitant to alter the GT by changing pickups because (a) it just isn't smart to alter vintage guitars and (b) because I was very afraid that the replacement would overpower the neck pickup, but it didn't. The 550C is simply a little thicker sounding and has just a tad more grind when running in distortion mode. *Bill Lawrence and I talked on the phone and he wanted to be sure I raised the pickup to 1/8" below the strings, and that's where it is.

For which styles and positions is this pickup (un)suitable: Stated above.

Overall Rating

Comments: I got very lucky. The 550C is the correct pickup for my applications and sounds just like I hoped it would. YES, I would replace it with another if the need arose.

This pickup has four wires and a ground, so it'll do all the tricks in the book, but I chose to install it "full-strength", typical humbucking mode and am completely satisfied. Tapping the coils would be useless to me. Also, it fit in the soapbar-shaped routing perfectly and required no modifications to the guitar.

Playing how long? I've been at it 39 years this year.

Compared to other pickups like it? There are no other pickups like the 550C that I know of.

The outcome of this experiment is very satisfying indeed! Bill never produced any poor pickups. I've owned several.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I give this pickup a: 10 Fantastic value

Submitted by: Bill Thomson <debbill@bellsouth.net>

 

REAL *Bill Lawrence HUMBUCKERS PAIR

Item # 921730462

Description

up for bid is a pair of real *Bill Lawrence humbucking pickups. these are the real thing, not the asian copies recently passed off  by parts distributors. one is for the neck and the other for the bridge.8.43k and 7.7k. these are unused and i have had them for 13 years in my pickup box. these are the last pair i have left. included are the original surrounds. they are model L500. questions gladly answered.thanks for looking rick

Made By *Bill Lawrence Products in California USA and are the same Pickups sold by Stewart McDonald and any other Music store. 

 

 

 

 



* Disclaimer: Jzchak Wajcman dba “Bill Lawrence USA“, is not associated with the designer Bill Lawrence since 1984.